Acne Control, GlamGlow, Mask, Skincare

GlamGlow SuperMud Clearing Treatment Review

GlamGlowClearingWell hello to you too.

I love a good mask. As I’ve mentioned before, I have oily, blemish-prone skin, so I like to use a mask weekly or twice a week to keep breakouts at bay. I’ve used OriginsClear Improvement for a while now, but I recently switched it up by trying GlamGlow‘s SuperMud Clearing Treatment ($69). I’d received some samples that I really enjoyed, so I decided to spring for a full size. GlamGlowClearing03 The package comes with a booklet outlining the spot-fighting technology of GlamGlow’s SuperMud. It boasts a blend of 6 bacteria- and irritation-busting acids, including glycolic, salicylic, lactic, mandelic, pyruvic, and azelaic. It also uses clay and activated charcoal – a great ingredient for keeping pores clear – to attract and extract dirt and grease as well as skin-soothing ingredients like chamomile and eucalyptus leaf. Eucalyptus leaf is apparently very good for skin – so good that the SuperMud Clearing Treatment includes little pieces of the leaves to deliver healing oils and antioxidants. GlamGlowClearing02 The product, once opened, smells of peppermint, though not overwhelmingly so. I usually prefer fragrance-free products, as they are less irritating. I’m not a huge fan of the tub container – I generally prefer my products to come in a tube, as tubes help to protect the product from bacteria, keeps the active ingredients – antioxidants, flavinoids, natural extracts – stable, and prevents the products from drying out. SuperMud itself, though, I really like. It has a medium consistency – not runny but not thick – and it’s easy to spread across your face. You don’t need more than a thin layer: piling on too much will prolong drying time and won’t increase the pore-cleansing benefits of the mask. I found that SuperMud dries quite quickly, taking maybe 6-7 minutes before it’s fully dry. The directions suggest leaving it on between 5 and 20 minutes. I usually remove masks after about 10. SuperMud is very easy to remove – notably easier than my Origins mask. When I remove SuperMud, my skin feels smoother, cleaner, and tighter but not dry. When I awoke the following morning, I noticed that a blemish that had been trying to work its way to the surface of my face was kaput! I didn’t notice that my skin was any more radiant than usual, but such effects are hard for me to notice, because I have fairly “glowy” skin. If you suffer from dry skin, I would imagine that the exfoliating properties of the mask would indeed help improve dullness. Here is a closer look at the product claims and ingredients (click to enlarge): GlamGlowClearing04 Thoughts: After one use, I’m pleased with the results. SuperMud is an easy-to-use option for oily, combination, and sensitive skin types. It’s worth noting that Paula Begoun’s Beautypedia notes that this product contains a number of skin-irritating ingredients, including peppermint. As a rule, I like to avoid essential oils like peppermint and lavender, which have the potential to be irritating. Not all skin types react the same way to all ingredients, however, and opinion remains divided over whether essential oils are beneficial or irritating for skin. I did not find this mask irritating in the slightest, and my skin is rather sensitive. Top ingredients include kaolin (clay) and charcoal, which is a good sign. Peppermint clocks in around the middle of the ingredient list, behind the 6-acid blend. It’s not a minute amount, but it’s not among the top ingredients either. Furthermore, I’m not sure how accurate the list of ingredients on Beautypedia is: GlamGlow is formulated without parabens, but 5 parabens are listed as ingredients on Paula’s site. I’ll continue to use this mask on a weekly basis, alternating it with my Origins Clear Improvement, and if I notice any irritation or an increase in oil production, I will definitely let my readers know. The packaging does indicate that using the mask may increase photosensitivity, so wear a good sunscreen after use (but you’re doing that anyway, right?). The product is indeed expensive – dare I say overpriced? – so if you are looking for a cheaper alternative, Origins’ mask is an excellent option and almost 1/3 the price. GlamGlow’s SuperMud Clearing Treatment is available from sephora.com, beauty.com, and skinstore.com.

Standard

Leave a comment