Fall 2014, Lipstick, NARS, Reviews, Swatches

NARS Bansar Satin Lip Pencil: Review and Swatches

NARSBansar

Bansar is one of two limited-edition Satin Lip Pencils that launched with NARS’ Night Caller collection for fall 2014. Bansar became available several days after most of the other products, and it finally arrived on my doorstep earlier this week. 

NARSBansar02

Bansar is a rosy nude with pink undertones, which on my lips translates into a dark nude. In the picture above, it looks pinker than it actually is. My arm swatch below gives a more accurate idea of what the color looks like on fair skin:

NARSBansarSwatch

That is just one swipe! As you can see, a single pass gives you opaque color. Like Mandore, Bansar is ridiculously creamy and smooth, but still very easy to apply without making a mess of your lips. Below, I applied it straight from the pencil, no lip brush needed:

NARSBansarLips

Here again Bansar appears a little lighter than it does in real life. I really like the color, especially because fashion from earlier decades is boomeranging back again: dark nudes are in this fall for a very ’90s feel. Bansar is, I think, an updated ’90s nude: dark but still very wearable. It’s highly work appropriate, especially if you pair it with a subtler eye.

Like Mandore, Bansar is long-wearing. I wore it on Tuesday through an intense run and a Pilates session. It wore on and on, fading just a tad but in a very natural and even way so that the fading was barely noticeable. The product is also very comfortable. Often when I work out or take a walk while wearing lipstick, it dries out and makes my lips feel dehydrated. Not so with Bansar: I was able to concentrate on my workout and not worry about how my mouth looked (though I did check myself out a few times to see how awesome the color was!).

Verdict: Bansar and Mandore are both major winners! They are perfect for fall and highly wearable, modern takes on classic colors that you can combine with a number of eye and cheek looks. Bansar, unlike Mandore, is not limited edition, so you have time to think about it if you’re not quite sure. Available now at www.narscosmetics.com.

Standard

Leave a comment